INEC releases names of candidates for Edo Governorship Election (Full List)


News Sports Opinion Politics Technology


INEC releases names of candidates for Edo Governorship Election (Full List)

The names of the governorship candidates for the September 19 governorship election in Edo state have been released by the nation’s electoral body on Tuesday.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) National Commissioner and Chairman, Information, and Voter Education Committee,  Festus Okoye, made this known in a statement made available to YEMIEFASH.

Okoye noted that the provisional list contains the names of governorship candidates from 14 political parties. He added that 13 males and one female will be contesting the for the governorship seat in the state.

He said: “At the close of nominations at 6pm on June 29, 2020, 14 political parties used the dedicated online portal of the commission to submit the list of candidates that emerged from their primaries.

“The provisional list of the candidates disaggregated on the basis of name, gender, age and qualification has been uploaded on our website and social media platforms. Furthermore, and as required by law, the particulars of the nominated candidates will be published in the Edo State office of the commission and simultaneously uploaded on our website Thursday, July 2, 2020.

“The final list of duly nominated candidates will be published on August 13 2020 after withdrawals by candidates and substitution by their political parties.”

Okoye, however, urged the voters to go through the nomination forms, affidavits and documents submitted by the parties on behalf of their candidates.

He noted that anybody who strongly believe that any information in the affidavit or any document submitted by any candidate is false may file a suit against such candidates for investigation.

Below is the list:

AA: Obhafuoso Paul, E — Governor; Sunday Johnbull — Deputy Governor
ADC: Akhigbe B Ehiabhi — Governor; Mabel Oboh — Deputy Governor
ADP: Ibio L Emmanuel — Governor; Demond Imasuen — Deputy Governor
APC: Osagie Andrew Ize-Iyamu — Governor; Audu Ganiyu — Deputy Governor
APGA: Lucky Osagie Idehen — Governor; Isah Asekhaimeh — Deputy Governor
APM: Igbineweka Osamuede — Governor; Obiyan Christian — Deputy Governor
APP: Amos Osalumese Areloegbe — Governor; Afolabi Ogah — Deputy Governor
LP: Osifo Uhun-Ekpenma Isaiah — Governor; Omobayo Marvellous — Deputy Governor
NNPP: Agolebun Tracy — Governor; Enobhaysobo Jonathan — Deputy Governor
NRM: Stevie Nash Ozono — Governor; Osadolor Eghe Festus — Deputy Governor
PDP: Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki — Governor; Philip Shaibu — Deputy Governor
SDP: Felix Ikezor Obayangbon — Governor; Omion Omonye — Deputy Governor
YPP: Jones Osagiobare — Governor; Samson Olukayode Idowu — Deputy Governor
ZLP: Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena — Governor; Thompson Osadolor — Deputy Governor