Delta governor signs bill to establish three universities


News Sports Opinion Politics Technology


Delta governor signs bill to establish three universities

overnor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta has signed into law bills to establish three new universities.

This occurred after the state’s House of Assembly at its plenary session on Tuesday passed three bills to establish the University of Delta, Agbor, Dennis Osadebe University, Anwai, Asaba, and Delta State University of Science and Technology, Ozoro.

Mr. Okowa had in January sent three bills to the parliament, seeking to upgrade the College of Education Agbor, Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro and Delta State University, Anwai Campus to universities.

This will bring the number of universities owned by Delta to four, including Delta State University Abraka.

In a statement by @DSGovernment, the official Twitter handle of the government, on Friday, Governor Okowa explained that the new higher institutions would help consolidate the state educational policies to allow residents of the state to further their education.

“Governor Okowa also stated that the new higher institutions were established to help to consolidate on the state’s educational policies and to create more space for Deltans to further their education at tertiary institutions,” it said.

Mr. Okowa commended the state’s legislators for the speedy passage of the bill.

The development came weeks after the Federal Executive Council approved the establishment of additional 20 private universities.



Source: peoples gazette

Comments (1)

  1. outstanding content, i like it

Comments are closed.